Arrow-right Camera

MLB Baseball

#65
James Paxton
ERA W-L K
3.83 11-6 194
Team: SeattleHt / Wt: 6-4 / 220
Position: SPBorn: 11/6/1988 Birthplace: Ladner, Canada
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 4th Round by Mariners (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 12 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Paxton won't make his scheduled start Friday against the Angels due to a virus.
Analysis: The left-hander recently missed just over two weeks with a forearm contusion and has gone 1-1 with a 5.73 ERA in two starts since returning. Manager Scott Servais said he expects Paxton to be able to return sometime during the last two weeks of the season.
Sep. 8 9:46 PM PT10:46 PM MT11:46 PM CT12:46 AM ET0:46 ET4:46 GMT12:46 9:46 PM MST11:46 PM EST10:46 PM CST12:16 AM VEN8:46 UAE11:46 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 11-6, allowing four runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the New York Yankees 4-0 on Friday. Paxton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.83 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 2 9:43 PM PT10:43 PM MT11:43 PM CT12:43 AM ET0:43 ET4:43 GMT12:43 9:43 PM MST11:43 PM EST10:43 PM CST12:13 AM VEN8:43 UAE11:43 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 11-5, allowing three runs on two hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-7 on Saturday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Paxton (left forearm contusion) has been activated to return to the rotation Saturday in Oakland.
Analysis: Paxton (10-5, 3.68 ERA) has been sidelined since being hit by a line drive in his left arm at Oakland on Aug. 14.
Aug. 9 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 10-5, allowing four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 8-6 on Thursday. Paxton struck out five, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 9:49 PM PT10:49 PM MT11:49 PM CT12:49 AM ET0:49 ET4:49 GMT12:49 9:49 PM MST11:49 PM EST10:49 PM CST12:19 AM VEN8:49 UAE11:49 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 9-5, allowing three runs on eight hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-1 on Saturday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.51 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 31 9:35 PM PT10:35 PM MT11:35 PM CT12:35 AM ET0:35 ET4:35 GMT12:35 9:35 PM MST11:35 PM EST10:35 PM CST12:05 AM VEN8:35 UAE11:35 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 9-4, allowing three hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 2-0 on Monday. Paxton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
July 13 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE12:03 AM CT-Paxton (back) has been activated from the the DL to start Monday against the Astros.
Analysis: Paxton was to be activated this past Tuesday, but his troublesome back stiffened up on him following a bullpen session a few days earlier. The ace lefty reported no problems, however, after throwing a 32-pitch session on Friday. The Mariners are going to need a healthy Paxton for the stretch run as well as the playoffs if they're able to qualify.
July 7 4:07 PM PT5:07 PM MT6:07 PM CT7:07 PM ET19:07 ET23:07 GMT7:07 4:07 PM MST6:07 PM EST5:07 PM CST6:37 PM VEN3:07 UAE (+1)6:07 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 8-3, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-1 on Saturday. Paxton struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 1 3:15 PM PT4:15 PM MT5:15 PM CT6:15 PM ET18:15 ET22:15 GMT6:15 3:15 PM MST5:15 PM EST4:15 PM CST5:45 PM VEN2:15 UAE (+1)5:15 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 8-2, allowing two hits and two walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Kansas City Royals 1-0 on Sunday. Paxton struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.39 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 26 6:53 PM PT7:53 PM MT8:53 PM CT9:53 PM ET21:53 ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST8:53 PM EST7:53 PM CST9:23 PM VEN5:53 UAE (+1)8:53 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 7-2, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
June 21 1:04 PM PT2:04 PM MT3:04 PM CT4:04 PM ET16:04 ET20:04 GMT4:04 1:04 PM MST3:04 PM EST2:04 PM CST3:34 PM VEN0:04 UAE (+1)3:04 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 6-2, allowing four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Thursday. Paxton struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.72 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
June 16 10:24 PM PT11:24 PM MT12:24 AM CT1:24 AM ET1:24 ET5:24 GMT13:24 10:24 PM MST12:24 AM EST11:24 PM CST12:54 AM VEN9:24 UAE12:24 AM CT-James Paxton allowed six runs - five earned - on six hits and one walk in 2.1 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-6 on Friday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
June 10 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 6-1, allowing three runs on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Sunday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.02 ERA and 1.01 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Paxton registered a ninth consecutive quality start, a stretch in which he's 5-0 with a 1.98 ERA and has struck out 77 over 63 2/3 innings. The standout lefty gets a challenging assignment next time out, though, as he takes on the Red Sox in Seattle on Friday.
June 5 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 5-1, allowing one run on nine hits and one walk in 7.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 7-1 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out six, ending the game with a 2.95 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
May 31 10:31 PM PT11:31 PM MT12:31 AM CT1:31 AM ET1:31 ET5:31 GMT13:31 10:31 PM MST12:31 AM EST11:31 PM CST1:01 AM VEN9:31 UAE12:31 AM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on four hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Texas Rangers 7-6 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out five, ending the game with a 3.13 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 26 9:29 PM PT10:29 PM MT11:29 PM CT12:29 AM ET0:29 ET4:29 GMT12:29 9:29 PM MST11:29 PM EST10:29 PM CST11:59 PM VEN8:29 UAE11:29 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 4-1, allowing one run on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Minnesota Twins 2-1 on Friday. Paxton struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: In four of his five starts this month, Paxton has pitched at least seven innings. He has a pair of complete games, including the first no-hitter of his career, and has allowed a combined five earned runs in 38 innings with 46 strikeouts.
May 19 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST9:47 PM CST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 3-1, allowing two runs on three hits and one walk in 9.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Detroit Tigers 7-2 on Saturday. Paxton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.30 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 13 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-James Paxton allowed three runs on six hits in 6.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Sunday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
May 8 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 2-1, allowing zero hits and three walks in a complete-game shutout, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-0 on Tuesday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.40 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He's 2-0 with a 2.51 ERA over seven starts since the bird stuck its talons into his back before the Minnesota Twins' home opener. This was the sixth no-hitter for the Mariners franchise, and the first since Hisashi Iwakuma did it against Baltimore in 2015. Felix Hernandez threw a perfect game in 2012, and Randy Johnson tossed Seattle's first no-hitter in 1990.
May 3 9:39 PM PT10:39 PM MT11:39 PM CT12:39 AM ET0:39 ET4:39 GMT12:39 9:39 PM MST11:39 PM EST10:39 PM CST12:09 AM VEN8:39 UAE11:39 PM CT-James Paxton allowed five hits and one walk without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-2 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out 16, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Paxton was overpowering in arguably the finest performance of his career, posting the highest strikeout total by a Seattle pitcher since Randy Johnson fanned 19 on Aug. 8, 1997. He got 14 A's on swinging strikeouts.
Apr. 26 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST6:59 PM CST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on five hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Thursday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.12 ERA and 1.42 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 10:03 PM PT11:03 PM MT12:03 AM CT1:03 AM ET1:03 ET5:03 GMT13:03 10:03 PM MST12:03 AM EST11:03 PM CST12:33 AM VEN9:03 UAE12:03 AM CT-James Paxton allowed five runs on six hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Texas Rangers 9-7 on Saturday. Paxton struck out six, ending the game with a 5.61 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 9:34 PM PT10:34 PM MT11:34 PM CT12:34 AM ET0:34 ET4:34 GMT12:34 9:34 PM MST11:34 PM EST10:34 PM CST12:04 AM VEN8:34 UAE11:34 PM CT-James Paxton improved to 1-1, allowing one run on three hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Houston Astros 2-1 on Monday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.57 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 2:05 PM PT3:05 PM MT4:05 PM CT5:05 PM ET17:05 ET21:05 GMT5:05 2:05 PM MST4:05 PM EST3:05 PM CST4:35 PM VEN1:05 UAE (+1)4:05 PM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners defeated the Kansas City Royals 4-2 on Wednesday. Paxton struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.74 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST5:27 PM CST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-James Paxton allowed two runs on four hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Minnesota Twins 4-2 on Thursday. Paxton struck out seven, ending the game with a 7.45 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 4:01 PM PT5:01 PM MT6:01 PM CT7:01 PM ET19:01 ET23:01 GMT7:01 4:01 PM MST6:01 PM EST5:01 PM CST6:31 PM VEN3:01 UAE (+1)6:01 PM CT-James Paxton fell to 0-1, allowing six runs on six hits and four walks in 4.2 innings, as the Seattle Mariners lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-5 on Saturday. Paxton struck out four, ending the game with an 11.57 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.