Arrow-right Camera

MLB Baseball

#41
Chris Sale
ERA W-L K
2.00 12-4 229
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-6 / 178
Position: SPBorn: 3/30/1989 Birthplace: Lakeland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by White Sox (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 21 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)9:48 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs on five hits in 3.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-5 on Friday. Sale struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.00 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 16 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one hit without giving up a run in 3.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Mets 4-3 on Sunday. Sale struck out one, ending the game with a 1.92 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 11 7:25 PM PT8:25 PM MT9:25 PM CT10:25 PM ET22:25 ET2:25 GMT10:25 7:25 PM MST9:25 PM EST8:25 PM CST9:55 PM VEN6:25 UAE (+1)9:25 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-2 on Tuesday. Sale struck out two, ending the game with a 1.96 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 11:42 AM PT12:42 PM MT1:42 PM CT2:42 PM ET14:42 ET18:42 GMT2:42 11:42 AM MST1:42 PM EST12:42 PM CST2:12 PM VEN22:42 UAE1:42 PM CT-Sale pitched a scoreless inning for the Boston Red Sox in his first start since going on the disabled list with shoulder inflammation.
Analysis: Sale allowed a hit, struck out two and hit a batter before getting Toronto's Randal Grichuk to pop out to second and end the inning Tuesday night.
Aug. 12 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 12-4, allowing one hit over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-1 on Sunday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 1.97 ERA and 0.85 WHIP on the season.
July 31 2:48 PM PT3:48 PM MT4:48 PM CT5:48 PM ET17:48 ET21:48 GMT5:48 2:48 PM MST4:48 PM EST3:48 PM CST5:18 PM VEN1:48 UAE (+1)4:48 PM CT-Sale (left shoulder inflammation) has been activated from the DL to start Sunday at Baltimore.
Analysis: Sale (11-4) has not pitched since July 27 against Minnesota because of mild left shoulder inflammation. He will have missed two starts when he returns to the Red Sox rotation and pitches in Baltimore. Sale leads the American League with a 2.04 ERA and 207 strikeouts. He is 5-0 in his last six starts and has allowed just one earned run over that span, a stretch of 39 innings.
July 27 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed three hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Friday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.04 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
July 22 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 11-4, allowing two hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 9-1 on Sunday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.13 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
July 18 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST10:02 PM CST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the AL All-Stars defeated the NL All-Stars 8-6 on Tuesday. Sale struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
July 11 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 10-4, allowing six hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 4-2 on Wednesday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.23 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
July 6 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 9-4, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-5 on Friday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.36 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
June 30 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 8-4, allowing one hit and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 11-0 on Saturday. Sale struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.41 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
June 24 12:41 PM PT1:41 PM MT2:41 PM CT3:41 PM ET15:41 ET19:41 GMT3:41 12:41 PM MST2:41 PM EST1:41 PM CST3:11 PM VEN23:41 UAE2:41 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 7-4, allowing four hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-0 on Sunday. Sale struck out 13, ending the game with a 2.56 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 19 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-2 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.74 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
June 13 3:30 PM PT4:30 PM MT5:30 PM CT6:30 PM ET18:30 ET22:30 GMT6:30 3:30 PM MST5:30 PM EST4:30 PM CST6:00 PM VEN2:30 UAE (+1)5:30 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 6-4, allowing one run on two hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-1 on Wednesday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.75 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 8 6:39 PM PT7:39 PM MT8:39 PM CT9:39 PM ET21:39 ET1:39 GMT9:39 6:39 PM MST8:39 PM EST7:39 PM CST9:09 PM VEN5:39 UAE (+1)8:39 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-4, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 8.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 1-0 on Friday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.83 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 1 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-3, allowing four runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 7-3 on Friday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:05 PM PT2:05 PM MT3:05 PM CT4:05 PM ET16:05 ET20:05 GMT4:05 1:05 PM MST3:05 PM EST2:05 PM CST3:35 PM VEN0:05 UAE (+1)3:05 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-2, allowing six runs on five hits and three walks in 4.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-1 on Sunday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 5-1, allowing two runs - one earned - on four hits and two walks in 7.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 4-2 on Tuesday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.17 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He has allowed three runs or fewer in his first 11 starts, the longest stretch by a Boston pitcher to open a season since Pedro Martinez's 12 in 2001.
May 16 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 4-1, allowing two runs on two hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-4 on Wednesday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.29 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST9:05 PM CST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed three runs on six hits in 9.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Friday. Sale struck out 15, ending the game with a 2.17 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The left-hander is the third pitcher in Red Sox history to strike out 15 while walking none. Pedro Martinez had four such games while Roger Clemens had three. Sale struck out six straight batters over the fourth and fifth innings, getting all six swinging.
May 6 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST3:46 PM CST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 3-1, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 6-1 on Sunday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.02 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST9:44 PM CST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs - one earned - on five hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-6 on Tuesday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with a 2.14 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST8:21 PM CST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 2-1, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Thursday. Sale struck out four, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST9:26 PM CST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 1-1, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-0 on Saturday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 1.86 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 1:03 PM PT2:03 PM MT3:03 PM CT4:03 PM ET16:03 ET20:03 GMT4:03 1:03 PM MST3:03 PM EST2:03 PM CST3:33 PM VEN0:03 UAE (+1)3:03 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-1 on Sunday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.23 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:26 PM PT8:26 PM MT9:26 PM CT10:26 PM ET22:26 ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST9:26 PM EST8:26 PM CST9:56 PM VEN6:26 UAE (+1)9:26 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 1-0, allowing one run on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 14-1 on Tuesday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 1.06 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one run on five hits in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 4-2 on Tuesday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with a 0.82 ERA and 0.82 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Thursday. Sale struck out nine, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 24 12:13 PM PT1:13 PM MT2:13 PM CT3:13 PM ET15:13 ET19:13 GMT3:13 12:13 PM MST2:13 PM EST1:13 PM CST2:43 PM VEN23:13 UAE1:13 PM CT-On Sunday, manager Alex Cora said Sale would be ready for opening day, on Thursday at the Tampa Bay Rays.
Analysis: Sale exited his final spring start on Saturday after facing just four batters, when he was hit on the left hip by a line drive off the bat of Houston's J.D. Davis. Sale immediately crumpled to the ground, but walked off the field on his own power.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 CWS 2 1 4 - 4 21 0 0 23.1 15 5 5 2 10 0 32 1.07 1.93
2011 CWS 2 2 8 - 10 58 0 0 71.0 52 22 22 6 27 3 79 1.11 2.79
2012 CWS 17 8 0 - 1 30 29 1 192.0 167 66 65 19 51 5 192 1.14 3.05
2013 CWS 11 14 0 - 0 30 30 4 214.1 184 81 73 23 46 2 226 1.07 3.07
2014 CWS 12 4 0 - 0 26 26 2 174.0 129 48 42 13 39 2 208 0.97 2.17
2015 CWS 13 11 0 - 0 31 31 1 208.2 185 88 79 23 42 0 274 1.09 3.41
2016 CWS 17 10 0 - 0 32 32 6 226.2 190 88 84 27 45 2 233 1.04 3.34
2017 Bos 17 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 214.1 165 73 69 24 43 0 308 0.97 2.90
2018 Bos 12 4 0 - 0 26 26 0 153.1 98 36 34 11 33 0 229 0.85 2.00
Career 103 62 12 - 15 286 206 15 1477.2 1185 507 473 148 336 14 1781 1.03 2.88

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 CWS 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 CWS 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 CWS 31 9 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2016 CWS 32 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Bos 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2018 Bos 26 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 286 25 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .120 .120 .160

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Bos Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
    LDS 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
Career 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1228 101 86 94.8 50.47
Slider 843 84 73 79.8 34.65
Changeup 362 91 83 87 14.88

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.